State of My Gadget Union: HP Chromebook 11

HP Chromebook 11

I have made two new Googly purchases recently.  The HP Chromebook 11 and the Nexus 5.

Nexus 5 thoughts soon, but after a few weeks with this Chromebook, I have found that this has effectively replaced my tablet and a surprisingly, many things I do on my Macbook Pro Retina 15”.   One of the reasons I wanted to try it out was that I found I often wanted to chat or write a quick email or do some basic keyboard-level content input with the tablet, but didn’t want to pull out a full-fledged computer.  This got me interested in the announcements for the Chromebook and the new Microsoft Surface (or potentially a new Macbook Air 11”?  That would be very tempting).   So for me, while the Chromebook is more of a notebook than it is a tablet, I find that I use it more like a tablet: to quickly look up and input content.

Pros in my experience:

  • Surprisingly, this is currently my most used device.  My Macbook Pro Retina 15” is now used almost solely for larger, visually-intensive projects like creating a presentation or poster.  And my tablets have become fancy remote controls lately.
  • Super inexpensive
  • Incredibly handy: can fit a tiny netbook/tablet bag
  • Great for content input vs. a tablet
  • Micro USB charging very handy: don’t have to carry two chargers
  • Display is really good (this is what got me interested in the first place): very nice contrast and viewing angles (even when compared to the Macbook Air)
  • Font size scaling in Chrome is nice: iPad + keyboard, for example, doesn’t scale fonts well, so it’s hard to use when placed at a distance: i.e. towards your lap or knee vs. held up near your face.  Chrome on a Macbook Air can scale fonts, but that’ll run you about $1,000: and you’ll have a less appealing display at the moment.
  • Very light: can easily hold it in one hand
  • Nice to use for coding via SSH

Cons:

  • Can be laggy/frame-droppy at times: especially when compared to a Chromebook Pixel,  Mac or Google/Apple tablet experience.   For a similar price, I believe the Asus and Samsung models may be faster, but the displays aren’t as appealing.
  • Native apps like Hangouts or Keep don’t appear to support font size adjustment. I just use the browser instead.
  • If you were to use this for presentations, I’m not sure how you would give one.
  • Low battery life.

For the price, those are the only cons I can think of after weeks of use.    This Chromebook may not have been targeted to a geek like me who already has much more powerful, beautiful machines, but it certainly has won me over.   Things I’d like to see in the next iteration of entry-level Chromebooks by Google:

  • Smoother.  Please make this a smoother, more responsive laptop!  Maybe the Asus or Samsung models are smoother, but I really liked the display on this one.  I think many would pay the premium for this.  One of the things I like about Apple products is that no matter what ‘line’ you get from them, you typically don’t experience any major lag in performance for basic tasks, and I think this is a good standard for Google devices.
  • Ramp up native Chrome apps to be more like a nice tablet experience.  For example, make a native Youtube or Gmail App that immerses you in.
  • Maybe a touchscreen like a lot of Windows models are going with (or the new Acer C720P!)?

Leave a Reply

